“The trouble with most of us is that we would rather be ruined by praise than saved by criticism.” –Norman Peale

Unfortunately, this has been true for me of late. At work, I recently received some clear messages that I needed to buckle down and create a fundraising work plan to help us through a tough economic climate. (It’s rough out there for us nonprofits, let me tell you.)

And while I’m down with planning, the thought that I needed to do my work in a significantly different way…let’s just say it didn’t sit well with me at first. But enough time has passed that I realize the merit of the feedback I’d been given.

It’s come down to swallowing my pride and realizing that I don’t have all of the answers all of the time. So, while I think I’m still a pretty good nonprofit manager, it doesn’t mean that I can’t be better still.

The Norman Peale quote above really helped crystallize things for me.

